If you use an Adblocker please consider disabling it while browsing this blog.
By viewing and/or clicking the AD's you make the future of this blog brighter! Thank you!

Advertisement

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #9 You're Never Weird On The Internet By Felicia Day




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#9

You're Never Weird On The Internet (Almost)
By Felicia Day 

From online entertainment mogul, actress, and “queen of the geeks” Felicia Day, a funny, quirky, and inspiring memoir about her unusual upbringing, her rise to Internet-stardom, and embracing her individuality to find success in Hollywood.

The Internet isn’t all cat videos. There’s also Felicia Day—violinist, filmmaker, Internet entrepreneur, compulsive gamer, hoagie specialist, and former lonely homeschooled girl who overcame her isolated childhood to become the ruler of a new world... or at least semi-influential in the world of Internet Geeks and Goodreads book clubs.

After growing up in the south where she was "home-schooled for hippie reasons", Felicia moved to Hollywood to pursue her dream of becoming an actress and was immediately typecast as a crazy cat-lady secretary. But Felicia’s misadventures in Hollywood led her to produce her own web series, own her own production company, and become an Internet star.

Felicia’s short-ish life and her rags-to-riches rise to Internet fame launched her career as one of the most influential creators in new media. Now, Felicia’s strange world is filled with thoughts on creativity, video games, and a dash of mild feminist activism—just like her memoir.

Hilarious and inspirational, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) is proof that everyone should embrace what makes them different and be brave enough to share it with the world, because anything is possible now—even for a digital misfit.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

Actress, New Media Geek, Gamer, Misanthrope. Voracious reader of Fantasy and Sci-Fi, especially with a romance twist. Has a book club on Goodreads called Vaginal Fantasy to celebrate the smuttier side of genre literature. Join in if you dare!

Felicia is the creator of The Guild and producer of the web series network Geek and Sundry.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |



Book Look #195: Valentine Witch By Shay Roberts

Hiya My Little Predators!!

Hope you enjoy!! C:

***
Book Looks was created by @Jen and Books and Other Happy Ever Afters.

This Week:
Valentine Witch By Shay Roberts

Book Look: Valentine Witch By Shay Roberts
For my previous Book Looks click here!

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #10 Thirteen Reasons Why By Jay Asher




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#10

Thirteen Reasons Why
By Jay Asher


"You can't stop the future."

"You can't rewind the past."

"The only way to learn the secret . . . is to press play."

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.

Clay spends the night crisscrossing his town with Hannah as his guide. He becomes a firsthand witness to Hannah's pain, and as he follows Hannah's recorded words throughout his town, what he discovers changes his life forever."
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:


Jay Asher was born in Arcadia, California on September 30, 1975. He grew up in a family that encouraged all of his interests, from playing the guitar to his writing. He attended Cuesta College right after graduating from high school. It was here where he wrote his first two children’s books for a class called Children’s Literature Appreciation. At this point in his life, he had decided he wanted to become an elementary school teacher. He then transferred to California Polytechnic State University in San Luis Obispo where he left his senior year in order to pursue his career as a serious writer. Throughout his life he worked in various establishments, including as a salesman in a shoe store and in libraries and bookstores. Many of his work experiences had an impact on some aspect of his writing.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

Friday, December 15, 2017

Top 25 Books Of 2017: #11 That's What Friends Are For By Jim Benton




Welcome To The Fifth Annual
Top 25 Books Of The Year!

For the next 25 days, we'll be counting down to Christmas with the Top 25 Books I've read this year! The book doesn't have to have been published this year. This list may only include books I've read from December 2016 to November 2017 (re-reads, books published a few years ago, ARC's of books about to be published, audio books, etc. also count).

*Books in this list are ranked from number twenty-five to number one (the best book of the year).

So let's get started!
***
#11

That's What Friends Aren't For
(Dear Dumb Diary #9)
By Jim Benton

Dear Dumb Diary,

So now I'm friends with Angeline. This is automatic friendship, and I have to just accept it and make the best of things. 

See, if I objected, then Aunt Carol might divorce Angeline's uncle, sending both of them tumbling into a deep pit of depression for the rest of their lives, and Angeline could wind up feeling so guilty that she would have to go be locked up in an old dirty insane asylum for years and years, and Stinker's puppies could grow up not knowing both their parents --- and I couldn't live with myself for doing something like that to a puppy.
Goodreads Button
Available At:
Amazon | B&N | iBooks |

You can also check out my review of this book:
My Review |
__________________
About The Author:

Benton began his career in a custom design t-shirt shop where he started designing his own characters. At the same time, Jim did illustrations and artwork for magazines and newspapers. People magazine named him "the most visible cartoonist in America" .

Benton also created greeting cards and worked in the magazine and publishing industry. In 1998, his SpyDogs characters became an animated series, The Secret Files of the Spy Dogs, that aired on Fox Kids. Licensing his own creations brought them widespread attention on products, such as It's Happy Bunny, The Misters, Just Jimmy and more.

Benton currently lives in Michigan, where he operates out of his own studio.
Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook |

My Ramblings: Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

Seasonal Books: Yay or Nay?

I can't be the only one who doesn't really enjoy season specific books, right? I like extra novellas/books in my favorite series as much as any other person, but seasonal books have become a turn off for me in the last few years. 

The story could take place any other day/time of the year, why does it have to be specifically geared towards Christmas, Halloween, Valentine's Day, etc.? I understand the marketing purpose of it all, but does it really make a difference? Book sales get me to buy more books than usual. A specifically themed holiday story in the middle of a series, will not do that for me.

Looking back on these 'My Ramblings' posts I seem to be a big complainer. I've realized that I have way too many pet peeves when books are involved, which is getting more and more drastic every year, even for me.

What are some of your pet peeves (bookish or otherwise)?
Let's complain about them in the comments below!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...